Skip to content

Here Be Dragons: It’s here!

februari 24, 2013

As you can imagine, I was terribly pleased to receive the e-mail below the other day. And the very same day, I received an advance copy in my physical mailbox – and it is gorgeous (if I may say so myself). And of course I encourage all of you to go and buy it (or borrow it at your library, or from a friend …) and, more important, read it.

 


WesPressLogo
We are pleased to announce Here Be Dragons: Exploring Fantasy Maps and Settings, a new book by Stefan Ekman
Ekman - Here Be R-72-3

The first in-depth study of the use of landscape in fantasy literature

Fantasy worlds are never mere backdrops. They are an integral part of the work, and refuse to remain separate from other elements. These worlds combine landscape with narrative logic by incorporating alternative rules about cause and effect or physical transformation. They become actors in the drama—interacting with the characters, offering assistance or hindrance, and making ethical demands. In Here Be Dragons, Stefan Ekman provides a wide-ranging survey of the ubiquitous fantasy map as the point of departure for an in-depth discussion of what such maps can tell us about what is important in the fictional worlds and the stories that take place there. With particular focus on J. R. R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings, Ekman shows how fantasy settings deserve serious attention from both readers and critics. Includes insightful readings of works by Steven Brust, Garth Nix, Robert Holdstock, Terry Pratchett, Charles de Lint, China Miéville, Patricia McKillip, Tim Powers, Lisa Goldstein, Steven R. Donaldson, Robert Jordan, and Neil Gaiman and Charles Vess.

For more details on this book, click here. Also available as an ebook — check with your favorite ebook retailer.

ORDERING DETAILS:
SAVE 30% on print editions when you order from the above web site and use discount code W301 — use the ”details” link above. Or order through your favorite bookseller, or by calling University Press of New England at 1-800-421-1561 (or 603-448-1533, x255 or x256). US Shipping charges are $5.00 for the first book and $1.25 for each additional. In CANADA, order through the University of British Columbia Press at (800) 565-9523 or email utpbooks@utpress.utoronto.caIn EUROPE, order through Eurospan at +44 (0) 207 240 0856 or email orders@edspubs.co.uk
Academic users may order an Examination Copy for potential course adoption. Please request a copy of the book in a letter on your institutional letterhead, and include the course title, estimated enrollment, and $5.00 for shipping (check, MasterCard, Visa, Discover, AmEx). Mail your request to: UPNE, Attn: Exam Copies, 1 Court Street, Suite 250, Lebanon, NH 03766-1358, USA or fax to (603) 448-9429.
14 kommentarer leave one →
  1. februari 24, 2013 1:02 e m

    Wee! Congratulations!🙂

  2. februari 24, 2013 10:11 e m

    Vad kul! Stort grattis! Får se till att skaffa och läsa!🙂

    • stefanekman permalink*
      februari 25, 2013 1:02 e m

      Och naturligtvis tala om alla punkter som du inte håller med mig på.

      • februari 26, 2013 10:55 f m

        Haha! Självklart!🙂

        Nej men jag tycker om att akademiskt analysera och fundera kring litteratur i allmänhet och fantastik i synnerhet. Då måste jag ju självklart läsa det här. Förhoppningsvis kommer jag även att lära mig en hel del jag kan ta med mig till mitt eget skrivande.

        Jag har när jag skärskådat mina berättelser insett att de innehåller många lager som kommer från halvformade bilder på en undermedveten nivå. Det är inte konstigt. Så fungerar vi som människor. Men jag tycker om att medvetandegöra så mycket som möjligt så att jag som författare kan göra medvetna val.

        Just världen som en karaktär och den avgörande betydelse den kan ha för berättelsen är en av de orsaker till varför jag föredrar fantastik framför ”vanlig” litteratur.

        Sedan har jag läst min beskärda del av fantasy. Men jag har ju äldre jag blivit insett att det finns så oerhört mycket jag inte vet. Lite allmänbildning vore på sin plats.🙂

        Så det ska bli spännande att läsa.

  3. februari 24, 2013 10:15 e m

    Förresten. Jag skulle gärna vilja köpa eboken. Kommer den att släppas via svenska ELIB? Eller kommer den kanske att hamna på iBooks?

    • stefanekman permalink*
      februari 25, 2013 1:03 e m

      Jag vet inte hur Wesleyan ämnar e-släppa boken, men ska undersöka detta och återkommer i ämnet.

  4. februari 25, 2013 6:31 e m

    Congratulations! I’m excited to read this. Any chance of a Kindle edition?

    • stefanekman permalink*
      februari 25, 2013 10:08 e m

      Thanks, Mano! There will be an e-book version but I don’t know what particular kind(s) yet.

  5. februari 25, 2013 11:07 e m

    Hej Stefan,
    Boken ser mycket intressant ut! Vet du om den kommer att gå att köpa på SF-bokhandeln så småningom? Fraktkostnaden om man beställer direkt från din länk är smått hysterisk – nästan 50 procents påslag på en redan ganska dyr pocket! Och eftersom SF-bokhandeln är en sympatisk affär som jag vill ska överleva så stöder jag dessutom gärna dem när jag kan – under förutsättning förstås att de inte är alltför mycket dyrare än alternativen!

    • stefanekman permalink*
      februari 26, 2013 5:49 f m

      Ouch! Hade faktiskt inte kollat frakten i förhållande till priset. Men du får inte ett mycket bättre deal via SF-bokhandeln tyvärr (http://www.sfbok.se/asp/artikel.asp?VolumeID=119275) — ca 50% påslag där med (298 kr + frakt) och de har inte fått in några ex ännu. Amazon, å andra sidan, erbjuder nästan 40% rabatt (http://www.amazon.com/Here-Be-Dragons-Exploring-Settings/dp/081957323X/).

      Jag kan tillägga att jag gjorde mitt yttersta för att hålla ned priset (royaltin lär inte göra mig rik) men det är svårt att förhandla med amerikanska förlag …

      • februari 26, 2013 5:43 e m

        Tack för Amazon-tipset! Det får bli där, tror jag. Jag kollade för säkerhets skull på Amazon UK också, i förhoppningen att man skulle kunna profitera på det låga pundet och samtidigt få lite snabbare frakt, men de skulle ha 25 pund! Och SF-bokhandeln är ju tyvärr inget alternativ med den prissättningen.

  6. mars 7, 2013 2:56 f m

    Received mine today in New Zealand!

    • stefanekman permalink*
      mars 7, 2013 5:47 f m

      Great to hear! I really hope you will enjoy it — and will let me know what you think. (And I liked your blog by the way — the georeferencing of Middle-earth was fantastic.)

Kommentera

